Social Media Measurement Standards (Finally!) Established

After 18 months of deliberation, the Conclave has issued the Complete Social Media Measurement Standards for key social media metrics.

The Conclave is a broad coalition of B2B and B2C companies, PR and social media agencies, and industry associations including the Institute for PR, the Council of PR Firms and the International Association for Measurement and Evaluation of Communication (AMEC).

The new standards set by the committee include definitions and best practices for six prominent social media measurement areas:

         1. Content and Sourcing
         2. Reach and Impressions
         3. Engagement and Conversation
         4. Influence
         5. Opinion and Advocacy
         6. Impact and Value

Completing a definition of standards for social media measurement is Perhaps the Most Important Social Media Launch of the Year, notes K.D. Paine, who served as co-leader of the committee. With the new social media measurement standards, PR pros can share intelligent reports to engage stakeholders; connect social media to ROI, business goals and marketing objectives; and integrate social media with sales reports and web analytics to evaluate trends. AMEC reported that the ultimate goal in defining standards was so social media could be measured across the company.

Each committee-approved standard was posted on for review and comments, and was then modified based on public comments. The most recent postings are the standards for Influence and Opinion and Advocacy, which are open for comment until July 31.

CyberAlert grants permission to republish this article provided that the republished version contains a link to the original article on the CyberAlert Blog. facebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestlinkedinmail

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>